Boyertown Planing Mill has a rich history that dates back nearly a century. The 94-year-old company, located in Boyertown, Pa., is owned by Susan and Thomas J. Wentzel, who purchased the business in 2006 from J. Michael Levengood.

The mill began operations in 1912 and incorporated the following year. After a disastrous fire in 1922 at Rhoads and Jefferson Streets in Boyertown, the mill was rebuilt at its current address at Second and Franklin Streets in Boyertown. J. Michael Levengood’s father, James C., began working at the planing mill in 1953 and bought the operation in 1975 along with several partners. In the early 1990s the senior Levengood bought out his partners after which J. Michael took over in 1994.

Operations at the mill have changed over the years in response to changes in the construction industry. At one time the mill provided only unfinished wooden goods such as shipping boxes (shooks), window sash, and subflooring. Today, the mill provides finished custom woodwork along with items made from more modern and high-performance materials.

The Wentzels intend to expand and upgrade the mill and its equipment while maintaining the superior level of service and craftsmanship that Boyertown Planing Mill has been renowned for over the years.

Address


200 S. Franklin Street
Boyertown, PA 19512

Contact


Main office: 610-367-2124
Toll Free: 1-800-362-5216
Fax: 610-367-8345